About Completion Criteria
With Completion Criteria, you will be able to control the criteria for course completion and how the course should behave once it's been completed. We have implemented four different completion criteria:
Off - in this mode, course progress will not be tracked and the course can never be completed. This mode is useful if you would like to have a course that never can be completed.
Static - in Static mode, course completion is connected to course progress and scheduled events. A course is completed when the user reaches 100% progress and the date of the last completed event has passed. Once a user has reached a completed state, the course will stay completed no matter if course content is changed or added to the course. Course progress will however stay updated with content changes. Meaning that if new content is added, progress will be recalculated and will go below 100% for previously completed users. But, as stated above, this will not affect the completion status for already completed users.
Static mode should be used for courses where content updates should not affect already completed users course status.
Dynamic - in Dynamic mode, using the same logic as in Static mode, course completion is connected to course progress and scheduled events. A course is completed when the user reaches 100% progress and the date of the last completed event has passed. But, in Dynamic mode, course completion is always directly connected to user progress and if a user's progress goes below 100% due to new course content being added, the course will automatically be moved from "Completed" to "In Progress". This means that adding new content to the course will change completed users course status and the course will be automatically moved from the course history to "In Progress".
Dynamic mode should be used for courses where it's important that new course content is completed by both new and old course participants.
Manual approval - in Manual approval mode, course completion is manually controlled by an administrator or a Content designer. Course progress is tracked the same way as in Static and Dynamic modes but does not affect course completion in any way. Rather, an administrator or a Content designer sets the course as passed or failed for users.